Archived — Consultation on Cost of Credit Disclosure

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Description

Please find below a consultation document concerning federal, provincial and territorial efforts to harmonize cost of credit disclosure law in Canada.

In 1995 under the Agreement on Internal Trade, governments agreed to harmonize their cost of credit laws, and in 1998 governments agreed upon a harmonization template to guide jurisdictions in implementing their respective laws. The objective of this consultation is to address two issues raised in an August 2004 report of a Panel convened under Article 1704 of the Agreement on Internal Trade to hear a dispute by Alberta, Québec and British Columbia with Canada regarding the Federal Bank Act - Cost of Borrowing (Banks) Regulations. In the report, the Panel recommended that clear guidelines be developed on: how APR (annual percentage rate) is to be calculated in disclosure documents for open credit other than credit cards; and what, if any, additional waivers to the 2-day cooling-off period for mortgage disclosures are acceptable.

The working group has developed options for addressing both of these issues, and presents them to you in the consultation document. An appendix to the document also provides information on rules to be implemented in the United Kingdom with respect to consumer credit agreements. The views of your organization will be of considerable assistance to the working group in its development of approaches to address these two issues.

Publication(s)

If you need help accessing this document, please contact us.

Contact Person

You are requested to submit your comments by March 1, 2005. You may reply by regular mail, fax or email, using this form or by letter. Please send your submissions to:

Maryanne Murphy
Consumer Measures Committee
c/o Office of Consumer Affairs,
Industry Canada
235 Queen Street,
Ottawa ON K1A 0H5
Fax: (613) 952-6927
E-mail: murphy.maryanne@ic.gc.ca

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Archivé — Consultation sur la divulgation du coût du crédit

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Description

Veuillez trouver ci-dessous un document dont l'objet est de vous consulter au sujet des efforts déployés par les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux pour harmoniser la législation sur la divulgation du coût du crédit au Canada.

Les gouvernements ont convenu d'harmoniser leurs lois sur le coût du crédit, en 1995, conformément à l'Accord sur le commerce intérieur, et, en 1998, ils se sont mis d'accord sur un modèle d'harmonisation servant à guider les autorités dans la mise en oeuvre de leurs lois respectives. Cette consultation a pour objectif de traiter deux problèmes soulevés dans un rapport d'août 2004, qui a été préparé par un groupe spécial constitué en vertu de l'article 1704 de l'Accord sur le commerce intérieur pour entendre un différend opposant l'Alberta, le Québec et la Colombie-Britannique au gouvernement fédéral et portant sur la Loi sur les banques (fédérale) - Règlement sur le coût d'emprunt (Banques). Dans son rapport, le groupe spécial recommandait qu'on élabore des directives claires sur les sujets suivants : comment calculer le taux annuel en pourcentage (TAP) dans les documents de déclaration dans le cas du crédit ouvert, à l'exception des cartes de crédit et, le cas échéant, quels types de renonciation additionnelle au délai de réflexion de deux jours sont acceptables dans le cas des contrats hypothécaires.

Le groupe de travail a défini des options pour régler ces deux problèmes et vous les présente dans le document de consultation. Des informations sont également présentées en annexe au sujet de règles qui seront appliquées au Royaume-Uni en matière de conventions de crédit à la consommation. Les points de vue de votre organisation aideront beaucoup le groupe de travail à élaborer des stratégies.

Publication(s)

Si vous avez besoin d'aide afin d'accéder à ces documents, veuillez nous contacter.

Personne ressource

Vous êtes priés de soumettre vos commentaires d'ici le 1 mars 2005. Vous pouvez répondre par la poste, par télécopieur ou par courriel. Faites parvenir vos commentaires à l'adresse suivante :

Maryanne Murphy
Comité des mesures en matière de consommation
a/s du Bureau de la consommation
Industrie Canada
235, rue Queen
Ottawa ON K1A 0H5
Télécopieur: (613) 952-6927
Courriel: murphy.maryanne@ic.gc.ca