Archived — Credit Card Charge-Backs - An Update

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Background

In May 2001 Federal, Provincial and Territorial Ministers responsible for consumer affairs endorsed an Internet Sales Contract Harmonization Template. This template contained provisions for credit card charge-backs along with provisions covering contract information, cancellation rights, and information provision. In endorsing the Template, Ministers directed the Consumer Measure Committee (CMC) to examine options for extending charge-back rights to other forms of commerce.

As a result, the CMC consulted with the public in February 2002 regarding how to implement the charge-back remedy in consumer protection law. Ministers next met in January 16, 2004, and discussed the results from the consultations. Ministers endorsed a proposal to ensure that, in future, the credit card charge-back provisions applicable to Internet sales will also be applied to other forms of distance sales 1. Ministers asked officials to further consult with the credit card industry to determine the most effective way to achieve this objective.

Status

CMC is pursuing its work and consultations to identify what measures organisations in the credit card industry are taking to both implement more direct cardholder commitments regarding charge-back regimes and ensure that member card issuers successfully meet the objective of consumer protection in distance sales through credit card charge-backs.

For example, we have noted that, on June 11, 2004, Visa Canada announced the implementation of a voluntary charge-back regime in a form making commitments to card holders. Through its "E-Promise" initiative 2 , Visa Canada is providing a partial response to the provisions of the Internet Sales Contract Harmonization Template.

For such existing initiatives, CMC is also monitoring compliance and implementation among credit card issuers. The CMC Charge-back Working Group will be reporting back to Ministers at their next meeting (expected to be in June 2005). The Working Group invites credit card industry members, and others, to submit information on: current charge-back regimes and any planned changes to them; how the regimes are implemented; and how card holders are informed about such regimes.

Please forward any further comments and information on this issue to:

David Clarke
Consumer Measures Committee
c/o Office of Consumer Affairs,
Industry Canada
235 Queen Street,
Ottawa ON K1A 0H5
Fax: (613) 952-6927
Email: clarke.david@ic.gc.ca

Footnotes

  1. 1 This includes, for example, mail order or telephone selling.
  2. 2 For more information, visit Visa Canada's web site.

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Archivé — Rétrofacturation par carte de crédit – Mise à jour

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Contexte

En mai 2001, les ministres fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux responsables de la consommation ont approuvé le Modèle d'harmonisation des règles régissant les contrats de vente par Internet. Le modèle renfermait des dispositions sur la rétrofacturation par carte de crédit et des dispositions visant les renseignements sur les contrats, les droits d'annulation et les renseignements d'ordre général. Lorsqu'ils ont approuvé le modèle, les ministres ont enjoint le Comité sur les mesures en matière de consommation (CMC) d'examiner les possibilités d'étendre les droits de rétrofacturation à d'autres formes de transactions commerciales.

Par conséquent, le CMC a consulté le public en février 2002 relativement à la mise en place de la rétrofacturation en tant que recours dans les lois sur la protection des consommateurs. Les ministres se sont ensuite rencontrés le 16 janvier 2004 et ont discuté des résultats de la consultation. Ils ont appuyé une proposition qui visait à ce qu'à l'avenir, les dispositions sur la rétrofacturation par carte de crédit applicables aux ventes par Internet soient aussi appliquées aux autres formes de ventes à distance. Les ministres ont demandé aux fonctionnaires de tenir d'autres consultations avec le secteur des cartes de crédit pour déterminer la manière la plus efficace d'atteindre cet objectif.

Statut actuel

Le CMC poursuit ses travaux et ses consultations pour déterminer les mesures que les organisations du secteur des cartes de crédit entendent adopter pour prendre des engagements fermes envers les détenteurs de cartes relativement aux régimes de rétrofacturation et pour s'assurer que les émetteurs de cartes atteignent l'objectif en matière de protection des consommateurs pour les ventes à distance grâce à la rétrofacturation par carte de crédit.

Nous avons notamment pris bonne note du fait que le 11 juin 2004, Visa Canada a annoncé la mise en oeuvre d'un régime volontaire de rétrofacturation sous forme d'engagements envers les détenteurs de carte dans le cadre de son programme e-Promesse. Ce programme constitue une réponse partielle aux dispositions du Modèle d'harmonisation des règles régissant les contrats de vente par Internet.

Lorsque de tels programmes sont déjà en place, le CMC fait aussi un suivi pour s'assurer que les émetteurs de cartes de crédit les mettent en oeuvre et s'y conforment. Le groupe de travail du CMC sur la rétrofacturation fera rapport aux ministres au cours de leur prochaine réunion (prévue pour juin 2005). Le groupe de travail invite les membres du secteur des cartes de crédit et les autres parties intéressées à soumettre des renseignements sur divers points, notamment : les régimes actuels de rétrofacturation et les modifications qu'ils entendent y apporter, la façon dont les régimes sont mis en oeuvre et la façon dont les détenteurs de carte sont informés de ces régimes.

Prière de transmettre tous les commentaires et tous les renseignements à :

David Clarke
Comité sur les mesures en matière de consommation
a/s Bureau de la consommation
Industrie Canada
235, rue Queen
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H5
Télécopieur : (613) 952-6927
Courriel : clarke.david@ic.gc.ca

Notes complémentaires

  1. 1 Il s'agit notamment des ventes par la poste ou par téléphone.
  2. 2 Pour de plus amples renseignements, voir le site web de Visa Canada.