Archived — Principle 8: Communications with Children

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.
Canadian Code of Practice for Consumer Protection in Electronic Commerce

8.1 All vendors have a social responsibility to determine whether the person with whom they are communicating or transacting is a child. When communicating with children, or when the content is likely to be of interest to children, the language must be age-appropriate, must not exploit the credulity, lack of experience or sense of loyalty of children, and must not exert any pressure on children to urge their parents or guardians to purchase goods or services.

8.2 Vendors shall take all reasonable steps to prevent monetary transactions with children.

8.3 Vendors shall not collect, use or disclose personal information of children without the express, verifiable consent of their parents or guardians, except as provided for in 8.5 and 8.6 below. When seeking parental consent, vendors shall clearly specify the nature of the proposed communications, the personal information being collected and all potential uses of the information.

8.4 Vendors shall not knowingly send marketing e-mail to children.

8.5 When contests or clubs are directed at children, vendors may collect children's personal information without parental consent and communicate directly with those children, when vendors:

a) collect the minimum amount of information required to provide the club membership or to determine the winner of a contest;

b) limit communications only to those required to provide the club membership;

c) in the case of contests, only deal with the parents or guardians of the winner(s) and do not contact the winner(s);

d) retain the information only as long as the children remain members of the club or until the conclusion of the contest; and

e) make no use of the information other than to provide the club membership or to determine a contest winner.

8.6 When vendors contract with third parties to provide a club membership or to determine the winner of a contest, vendors shall disclose only the personal information necessary for this, and shall ensure that the third parties agree to comply with principles 4 and 8.

Previous page | Table of contents | Next page

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Archivé — Principe 8 : Communications destinées aux enfants

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.
Code canadien de pratiques pour la protection des consommateurs dans le commerce électronique

8.1 Tous les commerçants ont une responsabilité sociale pour s'assurer que la personne avec laquelle ils communiquent ou font affaire est un enfant. Toute communication destinée à des enfants ou susceptible de les intéresser particulièrement doit être appropriée à leur âge, ne doit pas exploiter leur crédulité, leur inexpérience ou leur confiance, ni les inciter à faire pression sur leurs parents ou tuteurs pour l'achat d'un produit ou d'un service.

8.2 Le commerçant doit prendre toutes les mesures raisonnables pour empêcher la réalisation d'une transaction financière avec des enfants.

8.3 Sous réserve des dispositions des paragraphes 8.5 et 8.6 ci-dessous, le commerçant ne doit recueillir, utiliser ni divulguer des renseignements personnels concernant un enfant sans le consentement exprès et vérifiable d'un parent ou d'un tuteur. S'il sollicite ce consentement parental, le commerçant doit préciser clairement la nature des communications proposées, les renseignements personnels recueillis et leur utilisation éventuelle.

8.4 Le commerçant ne doit pas transmettre sciemment de courriel publicitaire à des enfants.

8.5 Dans le cadre d'un concours ou d'un club qui s'adresse aux enfants, le commerçant peut recueillir des renseignements personnels sans le consentement parental et communiquer directement avec les enfants aux conditions suivantes :

a) ne recueillir que le minimum de renseignements requis pour adhérer au club ou déterminer le gagnant d'un concours;

b) limiter les communications à celles qui sont nécessaires à l'adhésion à un club;

c) dans le cas d'un concours, s'abstenir de communiquer avec le ou les gagnants et ne communiquer qu'avec les parents ou les tuteurs;

d) ne conserver les renseignements que pendant la durée d'adhésion de l'enfant au club ou jusqu'à la fin du concours;

e) ne se servir des renseignements que pour l'adhésion au club ou pour déterminer le gagnant d'un concours.

8.6 Si le commerçant fait appel à un tiers pour gérer l'adhésion à un club ou l'organisation d'un concours, il ne doit lui communiquer que les renseignements personnels nécessaires à ces activités et doit s'assurer que ce tiers se conforme aux principes 4 et 8 énoncés.

Page précédente | Table des matières | Page suivante